Retreat to the Adirondacks


In July, Robin texted me to say I had to reserve this week on my calendar for next year. She was at a women’s writing retreat at Pyramid Life Center in the Adirondack Wilderness of New York. Reception was very sketchy, so I didn’t get the full story until the following weekend when she got home, but when Robin says I HAVE to be somewhere, I trust in how well she knows me. I marked the third week of July 2015 on my calendar. I couldn’t wait to see what the event was all about. As a photographer, I knew a week spent in the Adirondacks was going to be amazing. As a writer, I was eager to learn from my peers and brush up on my skill set.

Canoes at Rest on Pyramid Lake

Canoes at Rest on Pyramid Lake

It worked out that Robin and I were joined by Lindsay,  a sweet friend who grew up with her daughter. We talked the entire eight hours it took to drive to Pyramid Life Center ( PyramidLife.org ) with only a couple of stops along the way. The “girl’s time” was great.

Our home for a week, Cabin #3

Our home for a week, Cabin #3 – “Lourdes”

We got checked in and settled into our cabin, met a few of our cabin mates and started getting a good feel for the atmosphere. There were over 80 women in attendance this year from a wide range of locations and backgrounds, and we were all excited. Our minds were still racing with thoughts of home, chores, obligations, stresses. It took a day or two to truly decompress.

Throughout the week, there was time spent in various workshops learning more about our craft. I enjoyed my Travel Writing workshop with Author, Deb Smith and learned a great deal. I found I would sit down to write out my homework assignments each day and lose hours in quiet contemplation. The words came in floods, something I hadn’t experienced in a while. Then…quiet.

One of my favorite writing spots on quiet mornings

One of my favorite writing spots on quiet mornings

I quickly found my favorite writing nooks, and enjoyed time to simply relax, ponder, reflect and allow the words to flow freely from my pen. My pen. I haven’t written by hand in a long time, but one of the instructors talked about how the creative part of our brain is stimulated when we write by hand. This concept was proven the minute I got home and sat down to write on the laptop again…when no words would come to me. So, again, I picked up pen and paper…

Morning writing time was spent with a juvenile robin checking me out.

Morning writing time was spent with a juvenile robin checking me out.

Little visitor

Little visitor

I had the cutest visitors when I’d sit quietly on the porch and decks overlooking the lake. We also had time to do some paddling and explore our little area. The peace and serenity were therapeutic, as I settled into my surroundings for a few days, quieted my ever busy mind and just began to breathe.

Views of Pyramid Lake 11b

The Ladies of the Lake - four of my cabin mates

The Ladies of the Lake – four of my cabin mates

Catching a free ride on my kayak

Catching a free ride on my kayak

The workshops were just what I needed to transform my mindset regarding my writing, but the time spent with like-minded women was the sweetest. Evenings were spent on the front porch, gabbing, sipping wine, snacking on almonds and laughing. We are all so different, some of us from the inner city and some of us from the back woods, and we are all just the same. Kindred spirits formed bonds while lounging peacefully in adirondack chairs.

Most afternoons and evenings were spent reading and writing on the porch of our cabin.

Most afternoons and evenings were spent reading and writing on the porch of our cabin.

Beautiful flower gardens surround Pyramid Lake

Beautiful flower gardens surround Pyramid Lake

Views that make me smile

Views that make me smile

I’ve already put the third week of July 2016 on my calendar.

Till next time…

One thought on “Retreat to the Adirondacks

Leave a comment